What are the five pillars of Islam?

What are the five pillars of Islam?
Spread the love

Islam News – Fasting is one of the five pillars of Islam. The act of fasting is done during the holy month of Ramadan where Muslims, from sunrise to sunset, go without food or water.

The ninth month of the Islamic calendar Ramadan is likely to be on April 2, 2022. Muslims are obligated to fulfil the five practices throughout their lives.

The five pillars are fundamental practices to the Muslim lifestyle. But what are they?

1) Al-Shahadatayn (Faith)
This is the declaration of faith to one God, Allah and his messenger, Prophet Muhammad.

2) Al-Salat (Prayer)
Muslims must perform a ritual prayer five times a day throughout their day and is the fundamental part as Muslims believe it is their purpose to worship God.

3) Al-Zakat (Alms)

You must give a portion of your wealth to the poor and needy throughout your lifetime. This is obligatory upon a Muslim to offer zakat once a year and distributing it to those needing it the most. Sadaqah, which is charity is encouraged as part of a Muslim’s everyday life.

4) Al-Sawm (Fasting)
Muslims must fast through the holy month of Ramadan. There are specific rules during Ramadan which Muslims must follow like abstaining from basic needs and desires like food, drink and sexual relations for every day through the month.
Fasting takes place between the hours of sunrise and sunset. At sunset, those observing the fast take iftar, the evening meal, often with friends and family. The hours spent fasting can alter dramatically depending on the time of year Ramadan falls. This year it is expected to begin around April 2 lasting for around 30 days until eid.

5) Al-Hajj (Pilgrimage)
Every Muslim must at least once perform the scared pilgrimage to Mecca if it is within their means. Special white garments are worn during this time. The Hajj attracts pilgrims in massive numbers every year.

Islam News