Queen Elizabeth II’s funeral

Queen Elizabeth II’s funeral
Spread the love

Islam News – Queen Elizabeth II’s funeral is today at Westminster Abbey. The service, which begins at 11 a.m. London time (6 p.m. in Hong Kong, 8 p.m. in Sydney) will end a 10-day period of official mourning in Britain.

Dignitaries came from across the globe to pay their respects to Britain’s longest-serving monarch. A massive worldwide audience will watch. Tens of thousands will line up for the grand procession from London to Windsor Castle, where the queen will be buried.

The BBC will stream the procession on TV and on its website, where it will be available to watchers from around the world. The broadcast will be shared with international affiliates. In Australia, the funeral will be live on ABC.

For days, tens of thousands of people waited up to 24 hours to see the queen lying in state. Their individual acts of mourning commingled into a vast national expression of bereavement — and, to many, the ultimate expression of British democracy.

Source: The New York Times

Islam News